Updated: 3/12/2015

Related businesses

The 2015 USA Pro Challenge will take place Aug. 17–23, 2015. Start planning to attending the largest spectator event in the history of the state and one of the largest cycling events in the country! The race will have a new overall start in Steamboat Springs, visit new host host communities of Arapahoe Basin and Copper Mountain, and an individual time-trail course in Breckenridge.

2015 USA Pro Challenge Host Cities

Each host city puts on special events that celebrate cycling and the Rocky Mountain towns that love it — for racers and non-racers alike — including race festivals, concerts, bike tours, expos and more. Easy-going crowds gather at each beautiful stage, which takes riders along some of Colorado’s most difficult roads.

USA Pro Challenge cyclists climb Independence Pass near Aspen
USA Pro Challenge through downtown Aspen
USA Pro Challenge peloton passes Blue Mesa Reservior in 2012
2012 USA Pro Challenge rider Tyler Ferrar wins state 1 in Telluride
A mountain climb during the 2011 USA Pro Challenge in Colorado

Experience 2014 and 2015's USA Pro Challenge Route on Your Own Bike

We've compiled dozens of rides in the race's host cities that range from beginner to intermediate and advanced and for cruisers, road bikes and mountain bikes in cities from Aspen, Steamboat Springs, Breckenridge and Vail to Boulder, Denver, Crested Butte and many others.

Check out the rides >> 

Past USA Pro Challenges

The 2014 Pro Challenge's overall winner was American Tejay van Garderen of BMC Racing for the second year in a row. The race had its first-ever mountain-top finish, with riders zipping to the top of Monarch Mountain in Stage 3. It was also the first time fans got to weigh in on one of the host communities, with voters ultimately selecting a route from Boulder, through Golden and into downtown Denver for three circuits. See final standings >>

The 2013 race included some of the top talent in the sport and took riders through the Colorado Rockies across seven days and nearly 600 miles from Aspen to Denver and once again featured American professional cycling's highest elevation: 12,095-foot Independence Pass near Aspen. Sixteen world-class professional cycling teams from eight countries participated in the 2013 USA Pro Challenge, including Sky Procycling and 2013 first-place finisher Chris Froome. American Tejay van Garderen of BMC Racing was the overall champion. See final standings >>

Fans had two new ways to become a part of the USA Pro Challenge, as the professional cycling stage race continues to grow with the introduction of the Pro Challenge Experience presented by UnitedHealthcare in mass-participation bike ride Fort Collins on Sunday, Aug. 11, and the 9K Sprint Challenge run in downtown Denver on Sunday, Aug. 25.

2012’s seven-stage race was a 680-mile Rockies rally with more mountain passes to tackle than any race of its kind — including three trips above 12,000 feet. For spectators, it was a seven-day parade of tracking the competition, cycling celebration and fun local events. Through 12 cities from Durango to Denver (see the race route here), fans clanked cowbells, high-fived that guy dressed like a banana, watched the racers whiz by and partook in the host cities’ race festivals and natural beauty. The sixth stage finished atop Boulder’s see-forever Flagstaff Mountain and was be followed by an individual time trial through downtown Denver (with plenty of great vantage points for fans). 

In the race's first year (2011), nearly 1 million people came out to see the race at some stage — that this was the inaugural event speaks to how amped Coloradans are about having such a high-profile cycling event in their state. Called the most challenging race on American soil, the inaugural USA Pro Challenge brought out the likes of Tour de France podium winners Cadel Evans, Andy Schleck and Frank Schleck — though the 2011 win went to Team RadioShack’s Levi Leipheimer and 2012 went to Team Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda Christian Vande Velde.